Sketchy

Clearly, I don’t get out to much on the photography front much these days – or at least not the way I like to take photos, which tends to be away from people and out in nature. That said I have been doing a lot more work with my phone camera, which I’ve been posting here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/139848974@N04/

Still, I wanted to find a way to something creative while at home – so I tapped into one of my older creative pursuits: drawing. I used to draw quite a bit when I was younger; I even took an art class on cartooning when I was about 13 or so. I used to spend a lot of time trying to sketch characters I developed or replicating baseball team logos that caught my eye.

I’m not sure I was ever very good, but that’s really not the point. I liked it. And I recently discovered I still like it thanks to my wife Kim and my friend Steve. Kim started colouring complex colouring books a while back and I realized that she was really onto something not over complicating her artistic endeavours – she didn’t wait for the right conditions or the time. She just sat down and created something.

Steve on the other hand embarked on the #100daysproject, where he did something creative every day for 100 days. This was my favourite of his.  

I started with a rough sketch in a notebook, but it wasn’t until I sat down with our oldest son to draw together that I really found enjoyment in it. The kids inadvertently destroyed that sketch by “adding to it” with some markers. But we sat down again a little while later and I made this sketch based on a photo I took last fall.

img003[blog]

I was pretty happy with the result, so I soon embarked on another effort, this time based off of a photo my friend Wayne Simpson took of the Elora Mill.

img002[blog]

More recently I did this one, which was a pen sketch, that I went over with charcoal afterward. This wasn’t based on an existing photo, and while I need to work on perspective, I was quite happy with the results.

img004[blog]

 

Looking forward to sharing more with you!

M.

Leave a Reply

